BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Alan Kornberg '74, Chairman New York, New York Daniel B. Rowland Lexington, Kentucky

Richard Ader

New York, New York

Ellen Safir '66

Washington, District of Columbia

Priscilla Alexander '58 New York, New York Mary Bucksbaum Scanlan '91 Woody Creek, Colorado

Tracy Katsky Boomer '91 Studio City, California Charlene Solow Schwartz '54 Newtown, Pennsylvania

Deborah Borda '71 New York, New York Kimberly Scott *Tempe, Arizona*

Susan Paris Borden '69 Calgary, Alberta, Canada Jonathan Marc Sherman '90 New York, New York

Suzanne Brundage '08 Brooklyn, New York James Simon '97 Akron, Ohio

Matthew Clarke
New York, New York

Ben Simpson '16 St. Paul, Minnesota

Barbara Ushkow Deane '51 New York, New York

Nick Stephens '77 Bronxville, New York

William Derrough
New York, New York

Catharine Stimpson New York, New York

Nare Filiposyan '17 New York, New York Penelope Perkins Wilson '45 Malvern, Pennsylvania

Michael Hecht New York, New York Mariko Silver, Ex-Officio Bennington, Vermont

John J. Kenney
New York, New York

BENNINGTON COLLEGE

CLASS OF 2018

83RD ANNUAL COMMENCEMENT

JUNE 2, 2018

BENNINGTON, VERMONT

"We wanted to emphasize the feelings of triumph and joy more than honor or achievement."

-MARGOT SUTER ROOD '36

ennington's graduation ceremony has remained fundamentally unchanged since the first class graduated in 1936. The nomination of candidates for degrees by the faculty and the subsequent vote to award the degrees by the trustees have become a tradition.

The planning of the first ceremony aroused great controversy. The faculty, faithful to Bennington's progressive spirit, proposed that there be no ceremony. But the students insisted that they could not be decently graduated without a formal awarding of degrees.

Still, the students wanted their ceremony to signify celebration rather than competitive reward. The proceedings would be simple and brief, and there would be no special awards or singling out of students.

We, the 83rd class, continue in this spirit of community. We celebrate our graduation with triumph and joy.

Khumboh KD Kaluah Lulwama Mulalu William Fitzpatrick Scully Kadidia Kamate Fionnuala Rose Murphy Sangeeth Raja Selvaraju Gabe Kates-Shaw Jabeen Murtaza Chloe Lillian Shelford Nejla Katica Sophie Marie Nevin Rajat Shrestha Megan Marie Knapp **An Nguyen Christiana Stawasz Cole Krasner Nam Linh Nguyen Mary Alice Stewart Annika Kristiansen Nestan Nikouradze Ruby Struble Jack Labbe Dylan O'Hara Michaela Middleton Thurber Ionas Lafortezza *Hans Joseph Olsen Isabel Twanmo Dung Le Lauren Omokheoa Ajsa Udovcic Benjamin Lee Jeanelle Ortiz-Quezadas Melodi Var Ongel Samuel Kelly Fair Levit *Katherine Parker María Vargas Aguilar Jack Lindsay Sophie Rose Parker Goos Lazar Vujanic Tony Lu Charles Pisano Sophie Patterson Ward Roma Lucero Isabella Poulos Eva Weber Drew Sofi Lucia Colin Daniel Powers Pixel West Thomas Ludacer Liam Quinn Viva Kanani Obiajulu Wittman **Eleanor MacPhee Ayesha Raees Lily Joyce Wujek Griffin Manos Dani Redmon Robbins Davide Yepes Tamayo Fiona McGovern Ioria Lauren Rose Iliyana Yotova Marshall McGraw Zadie Ross Louay Youssef Liam McRae Mary Roth *Jessica Zeng Sveda Rumana Mehdi Asmita Saha Sundara Ziegler Elana Mendelsohn Jocelyn Salcedo

Joana Santos

Morgan Morse

^{*}Degree granted as of December 2017; **Degree to be granted as of December 2018

CLASS OF 2018



EXANDER GING "

BENNINGTON COLLEGE Candidates for Degrees ◆ June 2, 2018

MASTERS OF FINE ARTS

Rebecca Brooks Stuart Shugg Yanan Yu

BACHELOR OF ARTS

Caroline Adams	Nidesh Chitrakar	Kevin Gilligan
**Cat Adragna	Katherine Anne Dines	Clark Joseph Glennon
Mardryka Adzick	Christensen	*Rebecca Elaine Green
Caroline Elizabeth	Nathan Copperwheat	*Jordan Greenblatt
Albrectsen	Olive Darling Couri	Sarah Gross
Zoe Aloise	Shana Crawford	Nate Guevin
*Chloe Amos	Webb Crawford	Wesley Haaf
Yulia Andreeva	Julia Crowley	Everett W. Haddard
Nayeem Aquib	Ariane Curtin-Bowen	Tristan Louise Harness
*Sashank Aryal	Jonah Daniell	Muhammad Haroon
Michael Ash	David DaSilva	Jacob Hausthor
Aayush Baral	Nam Phuong Thi Doan	Ashlyn Joy Haywood
Nicholas Barney	Irene Susmita Childs Dole	Rachel Hegarty
Bibek Basnet	Kevin Ducey	*Milo Ryder Henderson
Aidan June Baxter-Ferguson	**Fiona Lea Eden	Julia Ofelia Herrera
Caleb Blansett	Francesca Edwards	Linh Hoang
Blair Blumberg	Rohan Edwards	Amina Hodzic
Atalya Boytner	Martin Feld	Lilianna Ellis Hogan
Sydney Paige Bradley	Emma Holly Daniel Flowers	Krisztina Hogye
Jenna Brewer	Dana Corcoran Foote	Zoe Huey
**Michaela August Brown	Moses Gavron	Claire Hunter
Mary Grace Bullock	Owen Gerber-Hatem	**Cody Edison Jacobs
*Eli Singer Calhoun	Jack Daniel Gerrard	lordan lacobs
Faruk Čalkić	Minahil Ghafoor	Elio Jahaj
Elizabeth Reed Causey	Trevor Gibbons-Reich	Lecil James
**Ariana Chaves	Erin Gildea	•
		Ferne Johansson

^{*}Degree granted as of December 2017; **Degree to be granted as of December 2018

BENNINGTON COLLEGE

83rd Annual Commencement ◆ JUNE 2, 2018

Commencement fanfares composed by graduating seniors: Kevin Ducey, Dana Foote, Rachel Hegarty, and Morgan Morse

I. PROCESSION

Alan Kornberg '74, Chairman, Board of Trustees

Mariko Silver, President

Isabel Roche, Provost and Dean of the College

Board of Trustees

Faculty

Bachelor of Arts Candidates

"Ceremonial March" composed by the late Luis Calabro, former faculty member

II. REMARKS

Mariko Silver, President

Stephen Shapiro, Faculty Member

III. AWARDING OF DEGREES

IV. RECESSIONAL

"Joyful Noise" composed by Michael Wimberly

Brass quartet: Michael Gallagher, Steven Morics,

Thomas Neeson, Gerald Zaffuts

Bennington percussion conductor Michael Wimberly with percussion students Nathaniel Contreras '19, Daniel O'Connor '21, Nicholas Williams '20